Posts Tagged ‘new release’

Fresh Stuff from Fleet Foxes

July 10, 2017 Leave a comment



After four years, the band Fleet Foxes is back with Crack-Up, a lush album full of harmonies, rich orchestration and…lots of literary and historical references—perhaps to frontman Robin Pecknold’s stint at Columbia University.

The album is a welcome listen for fans and a much-needed release after a stretch that has seen significant changes for the band members. As the Guardian reports:

“The album was recorded after a four-year hiatus, during which Pecknold studied at Columbia University and Fleet Foxes’ former drummer Josh Tillman unexpectedly became one of alt-rock’s most intriguing stars. Understandably, some critics have been keen to contrast Crack-Up with Pure Comedy, Tillmans’ latest album as Father John Misty, but it seems to bear more comparison to Bon Iver’s 22, A Million, another wilfully abstruse record made by an American alt-rocker who is disproportionately unsettled by a modicum of fame. On Crack-Up’s predecessor, Helplessness Blues, Pecknold spent a lot of time fantasising about jacking it all in to live on a deserted island, or to run an orchard. Now, he seems to have decided he can continue – but only if the music he makes takes a determined left turn.”



Fresh Stuff From Father John Misty

February 12, 2015 Leave a comment


In 2012, underground folk artist Joshua Tillman aka J Tillman dropped an album titled Fear Fun under the moniker Father John Misty. We weren’t exactly sure what to make of the name, with the whole “father” bit, but we knew we liked what we heard: a pleasant blend of psychedelic rock, indie-folk and California pop.

This week, Father John is back with a new release, I Love You, Honeybear. In keeping with the spirit of Fear Fun, Tillman is at times mysterious, irreverent, passionate, trippy, odd and lovely—sometimes all in the same song.

OCMS on Vinyl

August 5, 2014 Leave a comment


For those of you who have been waiting, the new Old Crow Medicine Show album, Remedy, which has been out on CD for several weeks, is being released on vinyl today. So get out your dancing boots, warm up the turntable, and prepare for a get-down of a time.

We still have a few giveaway OCMS buttons, free with purchase of Remedy. Be sure to ask for it at the front counter when you pick up your record.

New Stuff from Against Me!

January 20, 2014 Leave a comment


Tomorrow, the new album from punk band Against Me! hits the shelves. A band that saw itself catapulted into the mainstream spotlight when frontwoman Laura Jane Grace (born Tom Gabel) came out as transgender, Against Me’s latest, titled Transgender Dysphoria Blues is a concept album about a transgender prostitute.

Here’s the title track:

Fresh, Sufferable Stuff From AFI

October 21, 2013 Leave a comment


Tomorrow, 10/22, AFI releases its latest offering, Burials. Here’s a look at the first single, charmingly-titled, “I Hope You Suffer.”

And a catchy little ditty called “17 Crimes.”

New Stuff from Alice in Chains

May 28, 2013 Leave a comment


Today sees the release of a new Alice in Chains album titled The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here. Here, the band talks about what real rock and roll is, what they think of the new album and why they’re not concerned with everyone liking it.

Here’s a cut from the album: