Archive for the ‘Now You Know’ Category

Happy 25th Birthday to Tori Amos’ “Little Earthquakes”

February 22, 2017 Leave a comment


by Raul

Released in the U.K. first and a U.S. release a month later Little Earthquakes is Tori Amos’ debut album.

Containing 5 singles, “Me and a Gun,” “Silent all These Years,” “China,” “Winter,” and “Crucify,” Little Earthquakes was received well by critics in both the U.S. and U.K.

In 2002 Amos’ debut album made the top 5 of greatest albums of all-time by a female artist.

Here is a popular cut available on the deluxe edition of Little Earthquakes:

Happy 40th to Fleetwood Mac’s Rumours

February 4, 2017 Leave a comment


by Raul

Rumours is Fleetwood Mac’s 11th studio album, but only the second with the Lindsey Buckingham and Stevie Nicks.

Recorded in California, the album contains memorable singles, “Go Your Own Way” “Dreams,” “Don’t Stop,” and “You Make Loving Fun.”

Rumours also topped both the U.S and U.K. charts as well as winning a GRAMMY for Album of the Year.

Ramones’ “Leave Home” Turns 40

January 11, 2017 Leave a comment


by Raul

This week marks the 40th anniversary of Leave Home, the Ramones’ follow up to their classic debut album.

On January 10, 1977 the Ramones avoided the sophomore jinx with the release of the album that had a higher production value, but with the same upbeat three chord magic that made their eponymous debut a groundbreaking classic. The title of Leave Home is a reference to the band leaving New York to tour the world.

The front cover was designed by the same artist who worked with the Rolling Stones on Black and Blue and the back art was the first appearance of the now iconic Ramones logo.

There were three singles from Leave Home: “I Remember You,” “Swallow My Pride,” and “Carbona Not Glue.” The last was pulled from the album after it was released due to a trademark on Carbona, a popular stain removal product at the time. It was replaced in the UK with “Babysitter” and in the U.S. with “Sheena is a Punk Rocker,” which is also on Rocket To Russia. The 2001 expanded edition contains all three songs.

Leave Home sounds just as good now as it did 40 years ago. If that’s not proof that you can’t kill rock n roll, I don’t know what is!!

ICYMI: The Neutral Milk Hotel Vinyl Box

December 2, 2016 Leave a comment

Screen Shot 2016-12-02 at 3.37.28 PM.png

Neutral Milk Hotel fans, have you seen this? The Neutral Milk Hotel vinyl box set is a gorgeous collection of music, art and other delights.

The box, which was originally released in 2011, includes:

  • Two gatefold 12” records (In the Aeroplane Over the Sea and On Avery Island
  • Two 10” records (Everything Is EP with bonus tracks and Ferris Wheel on Fire EP featuring eight previously unreleased acoustic recordings)
  • Two 7” records (Little Birds and You’ve Passed/Where You’ll Find Me Now)
  • One 7” picture disc with fold-out poster (Holland 1945/Engine)
  • Two 24“x24” posters


For super-fans of the band, as well as appreciators of that fantastic intersection of visual art and music, this set is a treasure.

Glimpse Inside the Last Audio Cassette Factory

November 5, 2015 Leave a comment

Patterson Hood is Moving to Portland

July 22, 2015 Leave a comment


by Cat Johnson

Patterson Hood, longtime leader of the Drive-by Truckers, embodies the South. His songs are full of Southern characters, his accent oozes Georgia, and he’s an ambassador for all those Southerners who are all about making good friends, good memories, and good music.

In a recent piece for the New York Times Magazine entitled The South’s Heritage is About So Much More Than a Flag, Hood eloquently writes about the rich history of the South with its music, art, civil rights leaders, and many complexities. It’s a sentiment that resonates throughout his own life and music. As he puts it,

As a songwriter, I’ve spent the better part of my career trying to capture both the Southern storytelling tradition and the details the tall tales left out, putting this dialectical narrative into the context of rock songs.

But the lifelong Southerner is moving. To Portland. Yes, all your friends have moved up there and now Hood is making the move as well. He didn’t reveal too much behind the move, but in an interview with Paste Magazine, he opened up about what it means for the band, why he and his family chose Portland, and how the next move will reveal itself in time.

10 Factoids About the U2 Song “New Year’s Day”

December 29, 2014 Leave a comment


As we round the bend on the new year, it seems appropriate to do a little digging on one of U2’s most popular songs, “New Year’s Day.” With a killer bassline, catchy hook and consciousness-raising content that used to define U2, the song is a definite winner. Here are 10 things you might not know about it:

1. It was the lead single from the band’s 1983 album, War

2. The song was originally a love song between Bono and his wife but it was rewritten to be about the Polish Solidarity movement.

3. It was the band’s first UK hit single, peaking at number 10, and the band’s first international hit, hitting the charts in Norway, the Netherlands, Sweden and the US.

4. The song was ranked among the best songs of all time by Rolling Stone and Pitchfork.

5. The bassline was inspired by bassist Adam Clayton working out the chords to the Visage songs, “Fade to Grey.”

6. The Edge plays both piano and guitar on the song. When performing it live, he switches back and forth between the two instruments.

7. The B-side of “New Year’s Day” is a song titled “Treasure (Whatever Happened to Pete the Chop?).” It was never performed live.

8. During the Vertigo Tour at Silesian Stadium in Poland, the crowd waved red and white colored items, creating the Polish flag and, as the story goes, “stunning the band.”

9. The video for the song was filmed in a very, very cold Sälen, Sweden in the middle of winter. It was so cold that Bono, who refused to wear a hat, had trouble even mouthing the lyrics.

10. In the video when it shows the band riding horseback, it’s actually four Swedish teenage girls disguised as the band because U2 was too cold from the day before to shoot again.

Categories: Now You Know Tags: , ,