Home > Fresh Stuff > Fresh Stuff from Valerie June

Fresh Stuff from Valerie June


In 2013, singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Valerie June released her major label debut album, Pushin’ Against a Stone. June immediately caught the attention of roots fans for her fresh take on blues, folk, soul, gospel, country and bluegrass.

Hailing from Memphis, Tennessee, June is one of the most extraordinary artists around, reworking traditional music into something entirely unique.

Her new release, The Order of Time, sees June furthering her exploration of disparate sounds. As PopMatters reports:

The Order of Time continues June’s fusion of a diverse set of influences into a modern eclectic style. The title defines the album’s driving force as time and the joys, heartbreaks, and pain one naturally encounters in life. Lyrics explore those elements, and June’s unique vocals stands as strong as on her debut, but the rhythmic background and integration of a strong series of organ performances creates a sonic quality for time that personifies the album’s theme.


01. Long Lonely Road
02. Love You Once Made
03. Shakedown
04. If And
05. Man Done Wrong
06. The Front Door
07. Astral Plane
08. Just In Time
09. With You
10. Slip Slide On By
11. Two Hearts
12. Got Soul

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: