Home > Holidays > The Spirit of Halloween – Hellraiser

The Spirit of Halloween – Hellraiser

Hellraiser

by Cherene

It’s finally October and for most people that means a lot of different things. For me that means I can wear my jacket without anyone asking, “Oh my gosh, why are you wearing that jacket aren’t you hot?” It also means at the end of the month, for a day, it’s totally fine to have a pocket full of candy and tell people how cute their children are and it’s okay to give the said cute children candy. It also means for some reason every scary or creepy movie is even more scary and creepier.

I’m pretty excited about Halloween. I love other people’s costumes, I love candy, and I love getting scared from watching movies, and when the movie ends I feel ridiculous. For almost the whole month of October I’m watching horror movies and other movies that make you feel paranoid about answering the phone or going outside. So, if you don’t watch a lot of scary movies but want to get into the Halloween spirit, I’ll let you know what movies for sure freaked me out.

Hellraiser is directed by Clive Barker, a director who has made plenty of movies that will leave you sleeping with the light on. This movie was, from what I remember, the first scary movie I ever watched. It starts off with a guy named Frank going to a foreign country and buying a crazy looking puzzle box. He brings it to his childhood home and solves the puzzle box and is immediately ripped apart by hooked chains and is taken into the box. Creepy. Then Frank’s brother Larry moves into the childhood home to try to reconcile his failing marriage with his wife Julia, who is in love Frank.

One night Julia meets her dead lover (zombie Frank) in the attic and decides to help him lure men into the house so he can ‘restore’ himself and they can run away with each other. Soon after, Larry’s daughter thinks she catches her stepmother sneaking dudes into the house to cheat, but soon realizes she’s very wrong.

I haven’t seen every scary movie ever made, but from what I have seen I can say that Hellraiser still scares me. Definitely not as much as it did when I first saw it, but enough to make me jump from my light switch to my bed after I do watch it.

One time when I was 5 or 6, my uncle, who couldn’t have been more than 16, babysat me at my grandparents house while my parents were gone. He rented Hellraiser and let me watch it. I have no idea why he thought that would be okay and to this day, I still haven’t asked him about it. From what I remember I didn’t cry or freak out, I just sat on the couch with my knees serving as my new chin rest and watched it. To this day Rubik’s cubes kinda weird me out.

If you’re ready to get totally scared, or lightweight scared, head on down to Streetlight
Records and check out our horror section. We’ve got movies that will make you need a flashlight to take out the trash.

Categories: Holidays Tags: , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

