Home > In the Spotlight > A Case for Tim Burton’s Batman

A Case for Tim Burton’s Batman

Batman

by Cherene

The 1989 Batman, directed by Tim Burton and starring Michael Keaton, is my favorite Batman movie ever made. I can’t really put my finger on why Michael Keaton is my favorite actor to play Batman, he is just way better than anyone else so far. Most people don’t agree, at all, but I sort of have good enough reasons for that statement. It could be because he was in Johnny Dangerously with Danny DeVito, Dom DeLuise and Joe Piscopo and that was hilarious; or because Mr. Mom is also hilarious; or because he played Beetlejuice in another great Burton movie; but it might be because Clean and Sober, with Kathy Baker, who is in Burton’s Edward Scissorhands, is another one of my favorite movies; or because he makes me want to watch Clear History with Larry David over and over again; or it could be that I hated the fact there is a new Robocop movie and wanted nothing to do with it until I saw Michael Keaton’s face in the preview.

I understand the new Batman movies are crazy with the CGI and all that crazy computer stuff but I can’t get passed the weird voice change or that you can easily mimic the villain’s voice in a Pepsi can. I also love Jack Nicholson as the Joker in this movie. He is the best and the last Joker. I’m sorry but he was acting, and no offense, but anyone on as many things as the newest Joker is going to be crazy. He took that crazy home with him and I’m not going to say he deserves a crazy amount of praise for that role. He wasn’t terrible—he was better than that girl that played the newest Catwoman. Also, in my opinion, Michelle Pfeiffer is the last Catwoman. Maybe one of these reasons helps explain why Michael Keaton is my favorite Batman.

In this Batman, the Dark Knight of Gotham City faces his first villain, the Joker, played by Jack Nicholson who, in my opinion, is way better than the one in The Dark Knight. In Burton’s Batman, the Joker poisons random everyday beauty products with “Brand X” or “Smile X” which turns you into a pale-faced, smiling creep like the Joker as you laugh yourself to death.

When trying to cast an actor for the role of the Joker, Robin Williams was actually lobbying for the part. I like Robin Williams and all but Jack Nicholson plays a great Joker.

Burton’s Batman won Academy Awards for best art direction and set design. It has two soundtracks: one is a score by Danny Elfman the other is written and performed by Prince, who is hopefully coming out with a new album this year.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

