Home > In the Spotlight > In the Spotlight: Cherry Glazerr

In the Spotlight: Cherry Glazerr

February 10, 2014 Leave a comment Go to comments

CherryGlazerr

by Cherene

Cherry Glazerr is a three-piece band with a girl singer, a girl drummer and a boy on bass. They’re L.A based and take their name from KCRW 89.9FM (an NPR affiliate that serves Southern California) reporter Chery Glaser.

The band’s new album Haxel Princess got a little help from Lucy Miyaki of the band Tashaki Miyaki was and recorded by Joel Jerome who is also on the Burger Records roster. The video for “Trick Or Treat Dancefloor,” the closing track on Haxel Princess was directed by Hedi Slimane of Yves Saint Laurent for their new clothing line.

I know it’s only February and it’s a bit early to say this is the best thing to happen all year, but jeez louise this is really good. I’ve given it all the listening tests just to be sure I was gonna call it my favorite: long drives, parked on West Cliff at sunset, cleaning, and while falling asleep and let me tell you Cherry Glazerr’s album Haxel Princess has passed them all with flying colors.

I know I really like something when I listen to it while reading the lyrics and I’ve done that at least five times. With songs about grilled cheese, milkshakes and french fries it’s pretty easy to like.

The video for “White’s Not My Color This Evening” is the most amazing thing ever. It’s pretty obvious the song is about being on your period and being pissed. It’s such a good song and seriously the best video ever and I didn’t realize how much more badass everything looks in slow motion.

The video needs to be seen before you listen to the song by itself because the song just makes so much more sense when you see it. When they show the girl murdering that cupcake I thought I was going to lose my mind but it wasn’t until she got out of the car and handled that skateboarding jerk that I officially lost it.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

