Home > In-Store Concerts, Our Favorite Things, Record Store Day > Kicking Off Record Store Day with DJ Tom LG

Kicking Off Record Store Day with DJ Tom LG


Photo by Rosey Lakos

It’s becoming tradition that the inimitable DJ Tom LG opens the Record Store Day music festivities at the Santa Cruz Streetlight Records. Last year his set was built from the “craziest, kookiest and most bizarro surf and rock ‘n’ roll instrumentals on 45 rpms from the 1950s-60s.” This year he has something very special planned; something that you definitely don’t see (or hear) everyday. Here’s a teaser:

by Tom LG

This is my third year spinning at this event so I wanted to bring something different. At the last few RSD events I’ve been spinning old 45rpms on my Technics 1200s but this time I wanted to bring out my old Audiotronics record players which were made in the 1950s. That means I’ll be spinning original 78rpms; you know, mostly crazy rhythm & blues, jump blues and other assorted wild music from the 1950s.

The speakers on the record players are built into the system and I won’t need a mixer or headphones so I am using minimal equipment. It should be interesting for people to hear these original records on the machines that were made to play them.

Record Store Day is this Saturday. The doors open at 10am and DJ Tom LG will be there to kick things off right.

  1. April 19, 2012 at 12:21 pm

    Plus I just went shopping for a few new 78s and I did in fact score. So come have a listen to the new ones! -TLG

  2. DP
    April 20, 2012 at 11:35 am

    I’ve heard this guy several times and he’s the cat’s meow! He’s always in the groove. His collection of viper blues and in particular Bo Carter’s sweet ballads of love really have moxie. Yep, good stuff.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

