Home > In the Spotlight > I Missed the Regina Carter Show. Tell Me Everything.

I Missed the Regina Carter Show. Tell Me Everything.

February 26, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

by Cat Johnson

Last week, I left town for four days. In that time, I managed to miss both Fred Eaglesmith and Regina Carter. (That’s what I get for leaving Santa Cruz, I guess.) Fred, I’ve already seen a handful of times, but Regina is a new find for me. I’ve been filing her CDs for years, but was just recently turned on to her latest, entitled Reverse Thread. It’s a cross-genre, cross-cultural collection of songs based in African folk traditions, but, from that foundation, it takes off into uncharted territory. Featuring the kora, accordion, guitar, percussion, electric and acoustic bass and Carter’s shredding violin, it’s an easy, yet complex and textured listen. I have it filed in my collection alongside Ali Farka Toure, Toumani Diabate, Billy Bang, Virginia Rodrigues, Zakir Hussain, Abigail Washburn and the like; beautiful music that stokes my it’s-a-small-world fire.

I imagine that Carter’s show at the Kuumbwa was amazing, lovely, inspiring etc. I’d love to hear a recap of the night. Were you there? Tell me everything.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

