Fresh Stuff from Against Me!

October 14, 2016 Leave a comment


In 2014, following frontwoman Laura Jane Grace’s coming out as a transgender woman, Against Me! dropped Transgender Dysphoria Blues to critical and popular acclaim.

The punk band is back with Shape Shift with Me, an album that NPR describes as “raging, tender, organic, erotic and liberating.”

“There’s a lot to say, and Grace doesn’t hold back. In “All This And More,” she waxes tunefully about cities visited, hotel beds shaken and “your hips in my hands,” all while reminiscing gently about past loves and spent lust. On the other end of the spectrum, the fierce, abrasive “ProVision L-3” — which borrows its name from a popular model of airport-security body scanner — chillingly wonders, “What can you see inside of me?” As with the best Against Me! songs, the personal and the political dovetail into an inseparable tangle of anxieties and fuel for protest.”

Weekly Best Sellers

October 14, 2016 Leave a comment


01. Van Morrison – Keep Me Singing
02. Norah Jones – Day Breaks
03. Phish – Big Boat
04. Green Day – Revolution Radio
05. Meshuggah – Violent Sleep
06. Drive-by Truckers – American Band
07. John Prine – For Better Or Worse
08. Devil Makes Three – Redemption & Ruin
09. Against Me! – Shape Shift with Me
10. Bob Weir – Blue Mountain

01. Bon Iver – 22 a Million
02. Green Day – Revolution Road
03. Sleep – Sleep’s Holy Mountain
04. Notorious B.I.G. – Ready to Die
05. Joyce Manor – Cody
06. My Chemical Romance – Three Cheers
07. Beatles – Revolver
08. Amy Winehouse – Back to Black
09. Tame Impala – Currents
10. Norah Jones – Day Breaks

01. Dwarves – Are Younger…
02. Christian Death – Only Theatre of Pain
03. Various Artists – Party in the Tower
04. Allah-Las – Calico Review
05. Godflesh – World Lit
06. La Luz – Damp Face
07. Deerhoof – Magic
08. Death Cab for Cutie – Photo Album
09. Mac DeMarco – Salad Days Demo
10. Om – God is Good

01. Pink Floyd – The Wall
02. George Harrison – Living in the Material World
03. Beatles – 1
04. Frank Zappa – 200 Motels
05. Slash – Raised on the Sunset
06. Decline of Western Civilization
07. Judas Priest – Battle Cry
08. Harder they Come
09. Life Aquatic
10. Beetlejuice

01. Labyrinth
02. Panic in Year Zero
03. Jack Reacher
04. Family
05. Interstellar
06. The Town
07. Usual Suspects
08. Life of Pi
09. Boondock Saints
10. Gone Girl

Categories: Best Sellers

Wilco’s Schmilco

October 9, 2016 Leave a comment


Chicago-based rock outfit Wilco just dropped its 10th album, Schmilco. The record is  mid-tempo, acoustic record that’s been described as the band’s “loosest, most unadorned set of songs since its debut.”

The album’s title is a nod to Harry Nilsson’s Nilsson Schmilsson, the singer-songwriter’s classic-yet-unexpected venture into classic rock and novelty tunes.

But, as Paste reports, the title is a “curious reference point, because Schmilco contains few such gambles. Wilco has already passed through its wilderness period, and unlike Nilsson—who sank into alcohol abuse and seriously damaged his vocal cords by the mid-’70s—this band has emerged on the other side settled and healthy. Schmilco feels like aging gracefully.”

Fresh Stuff from Of Montreal

October 7, 2016 Leave a comment


Of Montreal is back with its 14th album, Innocence Reaches. It’s a rich and textured offering that spans the band’s vast spectrum, from psych and electronica to garage-rock and glimmery pop.

At the heart of the album is the song, “It’s Different for Girls,” an anthemic, disco-esque tune that calls out differences in how boys and girls are raised and treated in society:

It’s different for girls
From when they are children
They’re depersonalized
Aggressively objectified

The social observation, however, is just one aspect of an album that sees frontman Kevin Barnes in good form. As NPR puts it:

“Through all the genre splicing and experimentation, Barnes’ classic pop songcraft shines through. Scrape away all the digital technology and sumptuous effects — not that you’d want to — and there are still Beatles, Kinks and Beach Boys songs bubbling beneath. Barnes’ knack for supple, indelible melody, as well as his love of pomp, melodrama and lavish flourishes of texture and verse, have made Of Montreal one of the most consistently captivating bands of the past 20 years. Bursting like an overripe peach, Innocence Reaches is no different.”

Jack White Goes Acoustic

October 7, 2016 Leave a comment


Jack White, one of today’s highest profile rockstars, stepped away from the arena-rock sound he’s become famous for and went acoustic on his latest collection, Acoustic Recordings 1998-2016.

Spotlighting White’s songwriting and storytelling abilities, the record strips away all the glitz and showmanship, revealing a solid roots-rock singer-songwriter whose music stands easily on its own. It also brings to the surface a side of White that roots enthusiasts have seen glimpses of over the years and pulls the veil on all of the seemingly contradictory aspects of White and his music. As Pitchfork reports:

“Over the years, White has gamely pit bluesy authenticity against bullshit artistry; virtuosity against amateurism; punk credibility against Hollywood celebrity; small-business boosterism against Coca-Cola shilling. He’s a garage-rocker who’d rather chill on the front porch, a man who can write songs that fill football stadiums even though sports might just make him miserable.

Those paradoxical qualities have ultimately elevated White’s songbook above mere blues-rock revivalism. That tension is baked right into his music, where the scorching six-string pyrotechnics have routinely been hosed down by soothing sing-alongs. He’s an electric warrior and eccentric warbler, a Page and Plant in one perfect rock-star package. If he didn’t exist, the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame induction committee would have to will him into existence.”

Led Zeppelin: BBC Complete

October 5, 2016 Leave a comment


Nearly 50 years after its original release, Led Zeppelin’s BBC Sessions gets a royal reissue treatment in the form of a box set with a book, a numbered print, unreleased tracks and more.

Here’s the tracklist:

1. “Communication Breakdown” *
2. “What Is and What Should Never Be” *
3. “Dazed and Confused” *
4. “White Summer”
5. “What Is and What Should Never Be” *
6. “Communication Breakdown” *
7. “I Can’t Quit You Baby” *
8. “You Shook Me” *
9. “Sunshine Woman” *

* Previously Unreleased



Fresh Stuff from the Head & the Heart

October 5, 2016 Leave a comment


Seattle indie-folk outfit the Head & the Heart just dropped Signs of Light, its third album and the band’s major label debut.

Putting its folky tendencies behind it, the band shows off its pop chops on this one as it balances high-production anthem-like tunes with slower ballads.

For those attached to the Head & the Heart’s rootsy side, this one may seem a bit overproduced, but for those of willing to go wherever this evolving band leads, Signs of Light is a solid offering from one of the Pacific Northwest’s standout acts.